Criteria and Definition

Published by SuperAdminEMDAT


For a disaster to be entered into the database at least one of the following criteria must be fulfilled:

• Ten (10) or more people reported killed.
• Hundred (100) or more people reported affected.
• Declaration of a state of emergency.
• Call for international assistance.


EM-DAT data include the main following information:

Disaster number: A unique disaster number for each event (8 digits: 4 digits for the year and 4 digits for the disaster number - i.e.: 19950324).
Country: Country(ies) in which the disaster has occurred.
Disaster group: Three groups of disasters are distinguished in EM-DAT: natural disasters, technological disasters and complex emergencies.
Disaster type: Description of the disaster according to a pre-defined classification.
Date: When the disaster occurred. The date is entered as follow: Month/Day/Year.
Killed: Persons confirmed as dead and persons missing and presumed dead (official figures when available).
Injured: People suffering from physical injuries, trauma or an illness requiring medical treatment as a direct result of a disaster.
Homeless: People needing immediate assistance for shelter.
Affected: People requiring immediate assistance during a period of emergency; it can also include displaced or evacuated people.
Total affected: Sum of injured, homeless, and affected.
Estimated Damage: Several institutions have developed methodologies to quantify these losses in their specific domain. However, there is no standard procedure to determine a global figure for economic impact. Estimated damage are given (000’) US$.